jump to navigation

First Job! December 5, 2010

Posted by howibecameawriter in Uncategorized.
trackback

A quick post this week as I have been working on a job for a local company – and they’re paying me to do it – first milestone achieved!

A couple of months ago I approached several freelance writing companies asking if I could do some free assignments for them to build up my portfolio. I completed one short piece of copywriting last month for a local company and never heard anything since.

Then, out of the blue I got an email this week asking if I could do 4 mini articles and 6 pieces of copyediting in a small residents magazine for a local condominium, and they’re paying me for it.  I immediately accepted and have spent time before and after my ‘proper job’ writing, editing and re-editing the sections. It’s been a busy week but I’ve loved the challenge.  I can’t wait to see the final version in print – my name won’t appear in it obviously, but I will know I did it – I’m so happy!

So, for anyone else out there trying to get that first paid job – don’t give up.  Offer to do small pieces of work for free and it might lead to more (paid) work.

Right, back to the grindstone 🙂

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention First Job! « How I Became a Writer -- Topsy.com - December 5, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by terracechatter, Expat_Writer. Expat_Writer said: First Job!: http://t.co/6SUOOLC […]


Leave a Reply

