jump to navigation

Peaks and Troughs January 24, 2011

Posted by howibecameawriter in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I guess I already know the answer to this but does anyone else feel like it’s always up and down in this writing business? Good, I’m not alone then!  On the one hand, I know what I want to do, which is to write of course, and then on the other it’s just getting that first step made and getting something actually written, which seems to be the problem right now.

I’m trying to become full time freelance – that’s my goal within the next 12 months. In order to reach this I am:

– Applying for jobs on various websites (elance, freelancer, worldwidefreelance). These are mainly bidding sites and the price can vary massively. elance is by far the most professional and it’s worth taking the time setting up your profile as it seems to be quite high end jobs. The freelancer site has a lot of spammers by the looks of it so there are often 50 or more people bidding for the same job.

– Offering to work for free for local writing companies. This has led to one paid job which was great experience as it included lots of mini articles for a magazine as well as an interview for a feature length piece.

– Writing this blog. It’s a start in building up my portfolio where I can guide potential clients to view and see my writing style. It also allows me to test the water with readers for small chunks of my book.

– Completing a copywriting course from the UK Writer’s Bureau.  The course is going well so far and I have completed 4 modules and about to start the first assignment. They have posted my materials to me twice and still no sign of them so I really hope they arrive soon so I can get on with the rest of the course.

However, I am quite tough on myself and this isn’t enough. I’m not getting enough jobs or work and although I’m holding down a full time job, I need to get more writing experience to make that shift from the corporate to the freelance world. What else should I be doing?

– All of the above but more of it – more applying for jobs, using more websites, reaching out to more companies to get more work, and more studying so I can finish the course and maybe do some others.

Watch this space as I feel a peak coming!

As always any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

