jump to navigation

“Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion.” February 13, 2011

Posted by howibecameawriter in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am all about quotes – especially those on passion and success. An email with an inspiring quote lands into my inbox without fail every morning (check out Said What to get your daily dose!) Amongst the usual office politics, demands for project updates and countless invitations to another round of pointless ‘meetings about meetings’, those little gems of inspiration never fail to bring me back to my goals, especially those which seem the most unattainable at times (working for myself, being my own boss, becoming a published writer etc).

For some people, quotes are useless bits of nonsense written by someone who died years ago and which have become overused cliches – but I love that little injection of powerful thinking which urges me on a bit more each day to reaching my goals.

The quote in the title (by Hebbel) is one which I have seen in many different forms but to me it says ‘nothing which is worth having comes without hard work, dedication and passion’. As much as I hate the fact that there can’t be an easy route to success, I know that when we do reach one of those goals, or even a significant milestone, it feels so much better than if it was handed to us on a plate. Plus, we care for it so much that we are likely to appreciate it even more.

It reminds me of when I was 10 years old and all my friends had the latest shoes ‘Kickers’ which were all the rage. I stared longinly at my classmates’ shoes – the beautiful black leather shoes with bulky front laces, one shoe with a little red tag, one with a little green tag (indicating they were the ‘real’ thing). I know they sound awful now but everyone had a pair, or wanted a pair, me included! I nagged and nagged my parents to buy me them, but at over £100 (about US$160) a pair, they understandably refused. So I saved my pocket money, did some extra chores around the house like cleaning my parents car and saved any money I got as birthday or Christmas gifts. It took me months to save up enough, and I often wondered whether they were worth it. I could have bought numerous magazines, sweets or ice creams with that money in the time it took me to save up enough but I kept saving hard. Being reminded daily by all the other girls at school wearing the best shoes in the world and me desperately wanting to fit in urged me on towards my goal. When the day finally came that I had enough money (and my Mum took pity on me and gave me the last £10 for saving so well) the time to go and buy them far exceeded any expectations I had. The special treatment of the sales woman in the shoe shop, the anticipation of finally getting the shoes on my feet and parading around the shop, the box they came in, the special bag with the rope handles which I proudly carried the whole way home – all the time and pain it took me to get there was forgotten. I can still remember dutifully cleaning the shoes everyday before school, and making sure I found as many different occasions to wear them as possible – I was proud and wanted people to see my achievement. It didn’t matter to me that other kids had been wearing these shoes for months already and they were probably going out of fashion soon, nothing could deter me from loving those shoes!

Fast forward 18 years and here I am again, aching for something (a few things in fact) which I know is going to take time and effort with challenges and set backs along the way. Only this time the goal is much bigger than two pieces of leather with fancy tags on them. But will the feeling be much greater when I achieve these goals? Of course! It’s one of the hardest lessons in life, but ‘the greater the dream or goal, the more painful the journey’ (maybe I just made up my own quote there!)

Passion is an intangible force, stronger than anything on this earth – it often gets hidden by set backs, failure and rejection but if we navigate these, and continue to let the fire of that passion burn inside us, then anything is possible.

When a goal matters enough to a person, that person will find a way to accomplish what at first seemed impossible.
Nido Qubein

I would love to hear anyone else’s favourite quotes, on anything which inspires you or makes you laugh, please share!

Thanks for reading.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

