jump to navigation

What Do You Live For? February 20, 2011

Posted by howibecameawriter in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am delighted to announce that I recently became an NLP  (Neuro Linguistic Programming) practitioner and as part of our course we are shown some very inspiring videos and stories. This one seems to have struck a chord with many people and asks ‘What do you live for?’ Click here to watch the video.

This group of elderly and sick Taiwanese men realise late in life what they have been living for before it’s too late and it makes you wonder – what do we all live for? Family, friends, our career, travel? Spiritual or religious people can often answer these questions much easier.  Do we ever really give it much thought until we are faced with old age, sickness or death? These are usually the times when we begin thinking about the bigger picture and what life is all about.

During my NLP study we learnt how to start thinking about what we really want from life and then learn strategies on achieving it.  As humans, we are not programmed to always ask what we want and how we might actually receive it. But the truth is, this is all wrong. The law of attraction is a powerful force and if we can only embrace it, decide what we want and work towards achieving it, it can happen. Sounds too easy? Give it a try and see for yourself. Just making this realisation has changed my life and continues to do so. I mentioned some favourite quotes last week, and this is another top one – “Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen” – Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Living for something gives our lives a daily framework, whether it’s spending time with families and loved ones, achieving what we can in our jobs, trying to make a difference to those less fortunate than us. If we’re not living for anything, then what’s the point? If you think what you’re living for isn’t ‘big’ or ‘important’ enough then rethink that – we can all define our own success and once we know what we’re living for, life can really begin.

Wow, I didn’t expect this week’s post to be so heavy!

Happy living, and as always, thanks for visiting 🙂

Comments»

1. Bev Morley - February 21, 2011

Good Morning.

Great post! I too am an NLP practitioner (trained to master practioner level at around the same time as I qualified as a Cognitive Behavioural Therapist and Hypnotherapist).

I’m also a firm believer in the Law of Attraction. I know from personal experience that you CAN get what you wish for… both good and bad! Some of my favourite books/films are The Secret, What the Bleep do we Know (and the sequel – Down the Rabbit Hole). Awaken the Giant Within is a book (by Anthony Robbins) I’ve read repeatedly, and I also have it in MP3 format on my phone so I can listen to it at times that I’m feeling overwhelmed or as if I’ve lost direction.

There are some amazing things out there that we can all use to improve both our own lives and the lives of others… if only more people would be open to trying BEFORE they hit rock bottom.

2. What Do You Live For? (via How I Became a Writer) « Rob A Minute! - February 22, 2011

[…] I stumbled upon this blog while in Facebook. NLP (Neuro-lingguistic programming) is indeed re-kindling our dreams. And doing this in company of other dreamers is one step further! I am delighted to announce that I recently became an NLP  (Neuro Linguistic Programming) practitioner and as part of our course we are shown some very inspiring videos and stories. This one seems to have struck a chord with many people and asks ‘What do you live for?’ Click here to watch the video. This group of elderly and sick Taiwanese men realise late in life what they have been living for before it’s too late and it makes you wonder – what d … Read More […]

3. howibecameawriter - February 24, 2011

Thanks Bev, those are some great tips and recommendations. I will be sure to check out the books, especially the Anthony Robbins one. I wonder why some of us are so tuned into thinking the worst when we if we just try to look at things positively, what harm can it do?! I am a total law of attraction convert and work hard everyday to attract the things I want; it’s a work in progress. Thanks for taking the time to comment.


Leave a Reply

