jump to navigation

Home Sweet Home March 29, 2011

Posted by howibecameawriter in Uncategorized.
trackback

Ahhh there’s nothing quite like resting your head on your own pillow, taking in the smell of freshly washed bed sheets and drifting off into a comfortable and familiar sleep after being away from home for any amount of time. Being an expat though, that bed might not always be the same bed, the home not always the same country. But for me at least, that doesn’t seem to matter, as long as it’s ‘home for now’.

Some people spend their whole lives in the same house, spending just a few nights each year in a different place on holiday or visiting friends; some people never leave at all. To those people, the thought of changing homes every year is not even an option (this has been my living pattern for the past 11 years). To me though, it doesn’t necessarily matter where the house is, but it does matter that it’s my ‘home’.  The familiar smell and feel of my own bed linen and pillows for example makes practically anywhere my home. Take those things away and I definitely feel out of touch with the ‘norm’.

Of course the people make a difference too; whether you come ‘home’ to be alone and in your own surroundings, or whether your significant other, kids and/or pets make the house your ‘home’.  To me, a big bear hug from the hubby on the doorstep as I come in and I know I’m home 🙂

As much as I love travelling and moving around, home is still home, wherever that might be at any given time. We have made our home on three different continents so far and who knows whether we will make that 4 or 5 continents in the future – but it doesn’t matter to me because as long as I have that feeling of being at home, that’s exactly where I’ll be.

Until next time.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

