jump to navigation

Biting the Bullet April 5, 2011

Posted by howibecameawriter in Uncategorized.
trackback

Has anyone else put a CV together where they have little experience in the field they’re actually wanting to get into?

It reminds me of  my younger days trying to apply for my first job with little or nothing to write on the 3 empty pages staring back at me. Now I’m there again, albeit with a few more years of work experience but not much in the arena of writing, not yet anyway. But after doing some research I realised that I do have experience, lots of it, it’s just never been in a traditional writing sense – by that I mean my 6 years in the corporate world were spent doing what everyday? Writing reports, documents, procedures, presentations etc. It’s still the act of writing, whether it was acknowledged as such or not. So in the end I opted for being completely honest but also emphasising the multitude of writing experience I have had, just in the various forms.

I sent the CV to a magazine – in a moment of madness I think but I felt I had to just bite the bullet.

I’m almost done on my copywriting course and just need to complete two assignments. I’ll make the most of an upcoming business trip to get them completed. To be honest, it’s not the best course but it has given me some good insights and things to research further.

Some small articles I have written might be accepted into a travel guide – I hope to hear the final word very soon.

My time recently has seen me working on a few projects, not technically related to writing but that will enable me to write more on a full time basis – watch this space 🙂

Thanks for reading, until next time

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

